NCAA Rules for Incidental Contacts

Get better at the sports you play and the life you lead at STACK. Improve your training, nutrition and lifestyle with daily

When you unexpectedly see a coach, should you lay low or be bold? Clue in on this NCAA regulation before deciding.

If I see a coach out of the blue, can I talk to him?

Yes. The NCAA refers to such situations as "unavoidable incidental contact." This means that the contact wasn't prearranged and didn't take place on your school's grounds or at sites of organized practice and competition involving you or your team. The contact must not be used for recruitment purposes, and you and the coach are only permitted to engage in "normal civility" (e.g., an exchange of greetings).

For more info, check out ncaa.org


Photo Credit: Getty Images // Thinkstock

Topics: COACH