Marvel Studios Announces 4 New Movies

Get release dates and information on the next four Marvel Studios productions.

Thor: The Dark World

This past weekend at Comic-Con 2012, Marvel Studios wowed fans by revealing an exciting list of upcoming films. At the convention, Marvel announced release dates for three new films currently in development and delivered test footage of a superhero never before depicted on the silver screen.

Thor: The Dark World

Marvel excited convention attendees by setting a Nov. 8, 2013 release date for Thor: The Dark World, the sequel to last summer's blockbuster, Thor. The Dark World will be directed by Kenneth Branagh, who welcomes the opportunity to continue Thor's journey.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier

The sequel to Captain America: The First Avenger will kick off the 2014 summer blockbuster season early when it debuts on April 4, 2014.

Guardians of the Galaxy

Marvel confirmed that Guardians of the Galaxy is scheduled to hit theaters on Aug. 1, 2014. Based on concept art displayed at Comic-Con, the movie will feature several lesser-known heroes in the Marvel universe, including Star-Lord, Drax the Destroyer, Gamora, Rocket Raccoon, and Groot.



The biggest crowd pleaser at Comic-Com was Marvel's Ant-Man, directed by Edgar Wright. Fans loved the test footage of a hero who can instantly shrink to the size of an ant doing battle with armed security guards—squashing doubts expressed by many critics who questioned the potential of a film adaptation of the quirky superhero.

Photo Credit: Getty Images // Thinkstock