By Sarah Gearhart
Wanna talk to coach? Follow the NCAA’s rules.
Can I call a coach, or do I have to wait for him to call me?
You can call a coach any time, as long as it’s at your own expense.
Does that mean I can text a coach, too, since I’m paying for it?
Yes, but don’t waste your money and time. Although you can text a coach as much as you want, new Division I NCAA legislation prohibits a coach from texting you back.
Am I allowed to write a coach a letter?
Yes. However, there are restrictions on what a coach can write in response. A D-I or D-II hockey or men’s basketball coach can’t include information that would initiate recruitment until June 15 after your sophomore year, or Sept. 1 of your junior year for all other sports. Until then, the coach will refer you to the admissions office for information.